Lacrosse logo

The 2018 Lancaster-Lebanon League boys lacrosse all-stars were revealed and honored during a banquet at the Eden Host Resort on Thursday night. The selections are entirely decided by L-L League coaches.

L-L Coach of the Year: Wayne Hummer, Warwick

Currently the longest-tenured L-L boys lacrosse coach, Hummer steered the Warriors to L-L League and District 3-3A tournaments berths and won 12 games overall. Arguably the most memorable victory came in a comeback 5-4 win over Penn Manor in the regular season finale in which the Warriors scored four fourth-quarter goals. This came on the same night players on both teams were pink shirts reading, “Lynnley’s Light,” in support of a nonprofit created by Hummer and his wife, Kristi, in memory of their daughter, Lynnley Rose. It was part of the L-L's Lax Gives Back week.

“When you feel broken, and feel down and out, that is when you need to figure out how strong you are," Hummer was quoted saying in LNP after the win over Penn Manor. "These guys — their effort and their heart healed me,” Hummer had said. “So when we come to a game where we are up against it, and maybe not everything is going the way we want it, staying checked in enough that we can continue to work and try to find those openings is key.”

US Lacrosse - Central PA Coach of the Year: Dan Lyons, Manheim Township

Here's what Hummer had to say of Lyons via email Friday morning: "I nominated Dan Lyons independently for US Lacrosse - Central PA Coach of the Year for 2018 and the voting committee agreed that he was deserving of the award....we are very proud of him and everything he is doing with Manheim Township's program. He was instrumental in organizing the Lax Gives Back fundraiser this year, and his parent group did a lot of the leg-work to ensure that orders were correct and shirts were delivered to all coaches in a timely fashion. This all amidst an impressive season on the field. I can't say enough about the impact his guidance is having on the community and the league. Very proud of Dan."

Manheim Township is now at a 97-game L-L regular season win streak. The Streaks have also won the last five L-L tourney crowns. And they captured the program's fifth District 3 crown overall, but first since 2015, and first under third-year coach Lyons. Manheim Township will enter next week's state tournament with a 22-1 overall record.

Here’s the list of first- and second-team all-stars, honorable mentions, the players named All-Americans and other accolades handed out at Thursday’s banquet:

First Team:

Attack: Sean Curcio (Manheim Township), Kohl Wesner (Hempfield), Bryson Rhee (Ephrata)

Midfield: Grayson Sallade (Manheim Township), Matthew Heuston (Hempfield), Zach Diamond (Manheim Township)

Defense: Kyle Lando (Manheim Township), Billy Briegel (Penn Manor), Dan Klotz (Midfield), Jon Bergh (Warwick)

Face-Off: Nicolas Gutierrez (Manheim Township), Josh Heckman (Penn Manor)

Long-stick midfielder: Matt Lane (Lancaster Country Day/Lancaster Catholic)

Short-stick defensive midfielder: George Hetrick (Manheim Township)

Goalie: Caton Johnson (Manheim Township)


Attack: Cameron Aksu (Hempfield), Clayton Hollinger (Penn Manor), John Lux (Cedar Crest)

Midfield: Carter Davis (Warwick), Noah Palm (Cocalico), Noah Roark (Ephrata)

Defense: Cameron Chambers (Manheim Township), Ian McAnally (Lancaster Country Day/Lancaster Catholic), Riley Neuman (Penn Manor)

Face-Off: Austin Barto (Warwick)

Long-stick midfielder: Will Hurley (Manheim Township)

Short-stick defensive midfielder: Michael Nicklaus (Lancaster Country Day/Lancaster Catholic)

Goalie: Seth Wilton (Penn Manor), Josiah Jewell (Warwick)

Honorable Mention:

Attack: Tre Freeman (Manheim Township), Owen Zimmerman (Cocalico), Isaiah Shickley (Elizabethtown), Aidan Mahoney (Penn Manor), Noah Patterson (Lampeter-Strasburg), Corey Snyder (Warwick), Kyle Raudenbush (Ephrata)

Midfield: Bryce Hutchinson (Manheim Township), Bobby Griffith (Hempfield), Trey Glass (Warwick), Luke Hirtzel (Warwick), Pat Hansell (Cedar Crest), Nicholas Harbst (Cocalico), Caden Keefer (Ephrata)

Defense: Adam Bricker (Lancaster Country Day/Lancaster Catholic), Bradley Fry (Lancaster Country Day/Lancaster Catholic), Jett Kelley (Elizabethtown), Kearen Miller (Hempfield)

Face-Off: Patrick McClain (Lampeter-Strasburg), Wesley Gilbert (Lancaster Country Day/Lancaster Catholic)

Long-stick midfielder: Christian Springer (Warwick), Dylan Lindberg (Ephrata)

Short-stick defensive midfielder: Parker Graff (Conestoga Valley), Mark Himmelsbach (Hempfield), Ben Mann (Manheim Township), Reed Morrison (Penn Manor), Justin Minnich (Warwick)

Goalie: Duncan Keller (Elizabethtown), TJ Moore (Cedar Crest), Peyton Snopek (Lancaster Country Day/Lancaster Catholic)


Zach Diamond, Manheim Township, Midfield; Caton Johnson, Manheim Township, Goalie; Matthew Lane, LCDS/LC Cougars, Long-stick midfielder

Academic All-Americans:

Tommy Mann, Manheim Township; Kyle Lando, Manheim Township; Ryan Fluck, Manheim Township

Bob Scott Award:

Mark Himmelsbach, Hempfield: Named after the longtime Johns Hopkins men’s lacrosse coach, the Bob Scott Award is only given to one senior boys laxer in the central Pennsylvania region each year. According to US Lacrosse, the award “recognizes a player...who goes above and beyond in service to his team, school, and community...exemplifies the fundamentals of lacrosse, works hard to improve his game and is a leader both on and off the field.”

L-L Academic All-Stars:

Corbin Weaver (Ephrata)

Matt Lane (Lancaster Country Day/Lancaster Catholic)

Casey Emler (Cedar Crest)

Aiden Mahoney (Penn Manor)

Jakob Ellsworth (Garden Spot)

Nate Forbes (Warwick)

Dan Hester (Hempfield)

Hunter Garman (Cocalico)

Ryan Fluck (Manheim Township)

Patrick McClain (Lampeter-Strasburg)

Adam Kimball (Elizabethtown)

L-L Class Act Award:

Frank Honey (Cedar Crest)

Shawn Kernaghan (Cocalico)

Peter Kitchen (Ephrata)

Nathan Kindt (Garden Spot)

Jake Skundrich (Hempfield)

Josh Koh-Swineford (Lampeter-Strasburg)

Lucas Haggarty (Lancaster Country Day/Lancaster Catholic)

Owen Miller (Manheim Township)

Josiah Jewell (Warwick)

Cole Baker (Elizabethtown)