1970 Lancaster County track and field

At the 1970 Lancaster County track & field championships at Franklin & Marshall, from left to right, Columbia’s Glen Keller took first place in the 880, Columbia's Charles Simms won both hurdles events, Hempfield's Don Forrey won the 220, and Elizabethtown's Jim Ebeling won the 100.

This story contains links that will take you to our archives site on newspapers.com. This content is free for LancasterOnline subscribers who are logged in. Click here for more information about how to subscribe.

A little over 50 years, the Lancaster County track & field meet was held at Franklin & Marshall College on May 9, 1970. Hempfield came out on top for the team title, just edging Columbia 47-38. The Crimson Tide actually scored five first-place wins over Hempfield’s four, but the Black Knights made up for that in other areas by scoring points in the javelin, 220 and pole vault.

Among many highlights that day was Hempfield distance runner Jeff Bradley's record-breaking performance in the mile, as he crossed the finish line in 4 minutes, 25 seconds. Also, Garden Spot ’s Allen Woodward claimed first place in the pole vault with a record performance of 12 feet, 11.25 inches, and Warwick’s Dan Furlow set a new mark in the two-mile run, clocking 9:49.8.

The meet’s only double winner was Columbia’s Charles Simms in both hurdles events.

Other winners included Hempfield’s Clair Herr in the javelin (185-9) and Don Forrey in the 220, Columbia’s mile relay team (Glen Keller, Rich Null, Charles Simms and Joe Raymond ran a 3:29.8), Penn Manor’s Jack Weaver in the in the high jump (6-3.5) and Lennis Stachitas in the long jump (21-3.75), Columbia’s Keller in the 880,  Elizabethtown’s Jim Ebeling in the 100 (10.5 seconds) and Rod Wolf in the shot put (48-10.5) and Terry Wadsworth in the triple jump (43-11.5), Ephrata’s Dennis Hollingsworth in the 440 (50.9 seconds) and Manheim Township’s two-mile relay team (8:17.1).

Meanwhile, on the same day McCaskey placed fourth in the inaugural Central Penn Track Championships at Cedar Cliff, with Jim Hersh winning the two-mile, Doug Mack the mile and future Dallas Cowboy Doug Dennison the triple jump.