Lampeter-Strasburg High School junior Makenzie Lefever and senior Lindsay Szymanski won 2019 National Scholastic gold and silver awards, respectively.

Makenzie earned accolades for a wearable bubble blower shaped like a jellyfish. Lindsay was honored for a brass egg-shaped pendant she made from a tiny hinged door, a dragon sculpted around it. Both pieces were displayed earlier this year at the Demuth Museum. Makenzie and her parents invited to the national ceremony at Carnegie Hall in New York City in June.

Pioneer of the Year

Lampeter-Strasburg High School junior Justin Miller was recently crowned Pioneer of the Year. Classmates Madison Whitaker and Zachary Berger received nods as runner-up and school spirit award winners, respectively.

The combination Pioneer of the Year contest and Model UN-sponsored Talent for Change show brought in $250 for Doctors without Borders and $1,600 toward this year’s prom night festivities.

Safety poster honorees

Three L-S High School students received recognition from the district safety committee for their original safety posters. All of this year’s winners took inspiration from pop culture to create their designs:

First place: freshman Maya Bowman for her impaired-driving awareness poster.

Second: junior Madalyn Ruof for her electric shock awareness poster.

Third: freshman Keiva Middleton for her safety-goggle awareness poster.

The winning students received gift cards as prizes; their artwork will be displayed in several school buildings over the next few years.

National Hispanic Recognition

Three L-S High School students have been invited to participate of the National Hispanic Recognition Program, an honor based on their PSAT scores. Juniors Jose Estevez, Daniel McMichael and Amy Vidal scored in the top 2.5% in the College Board’s Middle States region, placing them among the nation’s top 7,000 Hispanic/Latino students who took the PSAT in 2018.


Martin Meylin Middle School mathletes participated in the 35th annual regional MathCounts competition in February at Millersville University. The school’s participants placed in the top 40%, and nine placed in the top 20%. The team of Bethany Barrall, Ian Bender, Grace Burdge and Owen Dean came in fourth place.

Individually, Rowan Kimmel came in fourth. Rowan has advanced to the final countdown competition, and competed in the state play in Harrisburg on March 15-16.

Martin Meylin Students of the Month

Martin Meylin creative arts teachers continued the theme of responsibility by selecting February Students of the Month who embody that trait.

They are Kathryn Berry, family consumer science; Karli Brenneman, technology education; Dylan Funk, German; Emma Landis, Spanish; Brady Manning, art; Alexis Rohrer, health; Cayden See, fitness and wellness; Isabella Lewis and Van Dietrich, physical education; Abigail Stevens, music; Eric Doutrich, band; and Ryann Logan, orchestra.