With a group of friends and family on hand, police Officer Greg Wahl was honored Tuesday as he prepares to leave the Northwest Lancaster County Regional Police Department to become a county detective.

At its monthly meeting, the Northwest Lancaster County Regional Police Commission recognized Wahl for 26 years as a police officer, and presented him with a plaque.

State Rep. David Hickernell gave Wahl a Pennsylvania House of Representatives citation stating, in part, that Wahl has served as a role model for those who aspire to a career in law enforcement.

Wahl served in the U.S. Coast Guard prior to joining the police department in July 1986.

During his tenure, he served as a patrol officer, investigator, DARE program officer, crime prevention officer and accident reconstruction specialist.

Wahl has accepted a position as a detective with the Lancaster County District Attorney's Office.

Wahl, 49, of Elizabethtown, said he enjoyed being a part of the Northwest police force - which serves Mount Joy and West Donegal townships - and considers the county position to be a new opportunity.

In other business, the police commission - made up of supervisors from West Donegal and Mount Joy townships - re-organized. The panel elected John Yoder of West Donegal as chair and Debra Dupler of Mount Joy Township as vice chair. Richard Forry was named secretary/treasurer.

The commission agreed to change the rate of pay for Forry's services from an annual rate of $900 to an hourly rate of $35.68. Dupler said that will be more fair, based on the service Forry provides. Forry said the commission work entails about 10 to 15 hours monthly.

The commission also hired two new officers, as the result of recent retirements. The new officers are Adam Shope, of Middletown, who is a graduate Harrisburg Area Community College, and Tyler Seidel, of Reading, who graduated from the Reading Police Academy.

Both were sworn into office by Magisterial District Judge Jayne Duncan.

Chief Mark Mayberry said the department is excited to have the two new officers, who were selected from 10 applicants.